How to Heal

As a mom, I would love to put my children in a bubble and protect them from certain things. Bullies and a broken heart are at the top of this list. Today I write about heart break.It is my greatest Desire to protect them when I feel that a potential partner may not be the one. Sue Me.

We never want to imagine our daughters balled up in their beds crying over some boy or girl who broke their heart but we can imagine it. But what if it’s our sons? Society teaches us that we have to raise our young men to be emotionless and strong. No crying, especially over a girl.

So to watch my own son, my only son, my grown son going through this is so heart breaking to me.I’m still feeling raw over my own heart break that occurred 6 days ago, it’s as if I am reliving it. I don’t want to give him the wrong advice. What do you do when you can’t help, can’t heal. There is no band-aid in the world that can cover this wound.

I can only tell him it won’t hurt this much next week, and hopefully much less the week after. It’s much like when someone dies, you cry and then one day you realize they are in a better place and are at peace with your feelings. My hope is that he will realize he is in a better place and move on.

I love you.

 

via Daily Prompt: Desire

Leave a Reply

